Tuesday, March 1, 2005

Call for Nominations: Trejo Librarian of the Year Award 2005

Trejo Librarian of the Year Award

2005 Trejo Librarian of the Year Award

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2004 Trejo Librarian of the Year. The award honors longer standing and newer REFORMA members who have made significant contributions to Latino librarianship. The award is presented during the ALA Annual Meetings. The Trejo LOTY Award is sponsored by REFORMA.

Nominees should demonstrate achievements in one or more of the following areas: a) library work that improves and promotes library services to the Spanish-speaking and Latino/a populations; b) contributions to the REFORMA organization; or c) participation in library work in city, county, state, national or international scopes. Nominees can be longer standing or newer REFORMA members.

The nominee must be a member in good standing of REFORMA.

$500 and a plaque.

Submission Procedure: Nominations from either individuals or REFORMA chapters are accepted. Nominations include the nomination form, at least three letters of support, and a current vita. Individuals may nominate themselves or others.

Deadline: March 25, 2005 (Postmarked)

Send nominations to:
Loida Garcia-Febo, Trejo LOTY Chair, Queens Library, New Americans Program
89-11 Merrick Blvd. Jamaica, NY 11432//Contac Loida at 1-718-990-0891 or Loida.Garcia-Febo@queenslibrary.org

Previous Recipients: Salvador Güereña, 1992; Luis Herrera, 1993; Mario González, 1994; Héctor Hernández and Albert Milo, 1995; Lillian Castillo-Speed, 1996; Camila Alire, 1997; Ramiro Salazar, 1998; Ben Ocón, 1999; Margo Gutierrez, 2000; Johh Ayala, 2001; Kathleen de la Peña McCook, 2002; Sandra Ríos Balderrama, 2003; José Aponte, 2004.