Thursday, January 26, 2012

BCALA Announces the 2012 Literary Award Winners

JCLC 2012

The Black Caucus of the American Library Association, Inc. (BCALA) announces the winners of the 2012 BCALA Literary Awards during the Midwinter Meeting of the American Library Association in Dallas, TX.
The awards recognize excellence in adult fiction and nonfiction by African American authors published in 2011, including an award for Best Poetry and a citation for Outstanding Contribution to Publishing. The recipients will receive the awards during the 2012 Annual Conference of the American LibraryAssociation in Anaheim, CA.
In the Fiction category BCALA recognizes two Honor Books: Silver Sparrow by Tayari Jones (Algonquin) and The Taste of Salt by Martha Southgate (Algonquin).

The winner in the Nonfiction category is The Indignant Generation: A Narrative History of African American Writers and Critics, 1934-1960 by Lawrence P. Jackson (Princeton University Press). Honor Books for Nonfiction are: Malcolm X: A Life of Reinvention by Manning Marable (Viking) and Heat Wave: The Life and Career of Ethel Waters by Donald Bogle (Harper).
The BCALA Literary Awards Committee presents the Outstanding Contribution to Publishing Citation to Teenie Harris, Photographer: Image, Memory, History by Cheryl Finley, Laurence Glasco, and Joe W. Trotter (University of Pittsburgh Press).

The inaugural winner for BCALA’s new category Best Poetry Award is Mule & Pear by Rachel Eliza Griffiths (Western Michigan University Press). Honor Books for Poetry are: The Armageddon of Funk by Michael Warr (Tia Chucha Press) and The New Black
by Evie Shockley (Wesleyan University Press).

Members of the BCALA Literary Awards Jury are: Gladys Smiley Bell (Chair), Hampton University; Jennifer Baxmeyer, Princeton University; Tracy Crawford, Queens Library’s Langston Hughes Community Library and Cultural Center; Makiba Foster, Washington University in St. Louis; Carolyn Garnes, Atlanta, GA; DL Grant, San Antonio Public Library; and John Page, Washington, DC